The Micros Are Out

The Micros Are Out

After 4 ½ weeks of having the micro braids in it was finally time to take those bad boys out. It was an okay experience but I don’t think I will get them again. At least in my foreseeable future. To take them out I divided my head into four sections and took them out slowly over a period of 2 ½ days. I had nowhere to be and nothing to do so I wasn’t in a rush.

When the braider (whom I randomly found on Craig’s List) was putting them in she used a small toothed comb to comb the sections she was about to braid – while my hair was dry. If you are a natural then you know that combing afro textured hair dry and/or without conditioner is a big no-no. However, when putting in things like braid extensions, is there another alternative? You certainly cannot put conditioner in your hair to braid in extensions and you cannot wet it because the braids won’t stay. Yea so that whole process seemed that it did some trauma to my hair. I made a mental note back then that when I took them out I would immediately go to the salon to get my ends clipped because I know they were being broken off. As I was taking them out a few days ago I lost the normal amount of shed hair that you would with not combing your hair in a month’s time. However, I did see a tiny bit of thinning around my edges in the front. It was not much, but enough to know that doing anything like to this my hair anytime soon would be foolish and detrimental to my hair.

So yesterday I went to the same natural hair salon in Philadelphia that did my big chop and my subsequent cut in September 2009 to get a trim – Au Naturale. It was a funny experience because there is a guy who usually stays in the front of the salon and is what is to be assumed a receptionist. He is a very masculine looking dude – dreads, tattoos, facial hair, etc. So imagine my surprise when he led me to the back to shampoo my hair. “Is that a problem?” he asked. “No, not at all. I am just surprised because I always see you at the front.” I replied. In my head I was thinking a number of things. First, why is he shampooing? Second, does he know what he is doing? Third, why is he shampooing lol? Now I know it is not uncommon for males to work in salons, but I always assumed that they were gay (not that that’s a bad thing). But this guy was obviously straight and again, very masculine. Not that type that would be shampooing a girl’s hair in a salon. So he took me in the back and shampooed me with this wonderful tingling peppermint, eucalyptus shampoo that I always ask for. I love the way it makes my scalp feel. Man, did he work that shampoo.  Also a licensed massage therapist, he gave me the best shampoo I have ever had at a professional salon. Omg…It’s the little surprises in life…

So the stylist who trimmed my hair, to my surprise, stated that my hair was in pretty good shape and she didn’t have to take much off. ¼ of an inch at the most, so a tiny bit. Having my cut back in September, I was way overdue for a trim and it was nice to hear that I didn’t have to lose much hair.

Today I deep conditioned for about 45 minutes with Aubrey Organics GPB Conditioner because I felt I needed a bit of protein. Then I cowashed with the very moisturizing Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Conditioner. Love that stuff. I didn’t style my hair or anything. I decided that today I would rock my fro. As a leave-in I used the Darcy’s Botanicals Daily Leave-In Conditioner followed by some extra-virgin coconut oil and some shea butter mix to seal in the moisture. Then I put on a pink summer dress, gold hoop earrings and some shades and went for a drive to Sally’s to get a new satin bonnet. Here are some pics.

Excuse the messy floor.

3 thoughts on “The Micros Are Out

  1. Christina, I love your blog. I enjoyed reading your story about the big chop. I know that you told me briefly about it, but it was cool to read about it. Keep up the great work, I will def stay tuned to what you have going on here.

  2. I loved hearing about your salon experience. You are too funny :). You were rocking that dress and those shades. Your hair looks great. Overall, pictures are beautiful. Take care and be blessed

Leave a Reply

