My One Year Anniversary

My One Year Anniversary

So, as you probably already know or have read somewhere on this blog, I’ve recently passed my one year natural hair anniversary. The last relaxer that I had before my big chop was in February 2009 and I went to a salon to get the relaxed hair cut all off on May 27th, 2009. So it has been a whole year. Having natural hair definitely takes some getting used to. Natural hair doesn’t look like, act like or feel like relaxed hair in any way. One thing I struggled with and still continue to struggle with a little bit is getting to know and being comfortable with my texture. My hair is soft but tightly curled with no visible curl pattern without the assistance of a good gel. When I was transitioning and still in the TWA (teeny weeny afro) stage I watched Youtube religiously and fell in love with other people’s natural hair. People who had looser curl patterns than I ultimately did. That was the first mistake I made because it caused me to be disappointed in my curl pattern when I didn’t have these ringlet curls that others seemed to have. Products like Kinky Curly Curling Custard did not have to same results for me as it did for others and it frustrated me. But now although from time to time I get “hair envy” I am beginning to accept my hair texture more than ever. It makes me unique and naturally fab 😉

I also succumbed to product junkie-ism. Every natural hair product that I read about on a blog or saw in a Youtube video I just had to try. Needless to say this can be quite expensive. I am working on finding my staple products and things that work best for my hair. Not always needing to try the latest miracle product.

Over the past year I went through stages with my hair. In the beginning, I was all about the wash-and-go, but when it started getting cold and my hair started to grow out I started with protective styling (coils, two-strand twists). Then when it got even longer I started wearing twist-outs. Twist-outs have become my favorite natural hair style.

I’m very happy with the progress of my hair thus far and can’t wait to see how it changes as it continues to grow. Going natural was the best decision I’ve ever made and for me there is no going back. For me the pros of being natural far outweigh the cons. Check out this video I made about my first year as a natural.

Leave a Reply

